Categories

CNBC’s Sustainable Future Forum Europe: Providing Energy

Tuesday’s session from Europe of the Sustainable Future Forum focused on providing energy.

No discussion on our Sustainable Future would be complete without taking a look at how we are going to power the change. Fossil fuels are still our main source of energy but things are changing.

CNBC took a look at the energy transition, from the role incumbent energy providers will play, to the new start-ups that are looking to change the business model one green-step at a time.

The lineup for Tuesday’s sessions are below, and click here for the full schedule of the week.

Panel: Can hydrogen power the energy transition?
6:30 p.m. SGT/HK | 11:30 a.m. BST

Marco Alverà, CEO of Snam, and Christian Bruch, CEO of Siemens Energy. 

With the clean energy transition underway, hydrogen is back in the spotlight. Offering a light, storable and energy-dense solution to providing cleaner energy, green hydrogen is playing an increasingly important role in the journey to a low-carbon future. We’ll hear from Italian energy infrastructure operator Snam and Germany’s Siemens Energy about the role hydrogen can play in powering the energy transition, whether that transition is coming fast enough and what investment is still needed.

Add to calendar

Fireside: Accelerating the energy transition
7 p.m. SGT/HK | 12 p.m. BST

Ignacio Galán, chairman and CEO of Iberdrola.

Ignacio Galán, the CEO of Iberdrola, has long been a champion of renewable energy, transforming the company from an operator of fossil fuel plants into an offshore wind and solar powerhouse. He wants there to be a sense of urgency in Europe’s transition to cleaner energy, and will discuss how we get there, what his strategy is to double Iberdrola’s renewable power capacity by 2025, and what impact the gas crisis will have on Europe’s long-term decarbonization goals.

Subscribe to CNBC International on YouTube. 

Source